Connect with us


Ibori’s Daughter, Allies Take Prime Committees In Delta House Of Assembly



Patrick Adamagu

DAUGHTER of former governor James Ibori of Delta State has been named as chairperson of the finance and appropriation committee in the State House of Assembly.

The emergence of Eriathake Ibori-Suenu alongside 28 others, was announced by the Speaker, Rt Hon   Sheriff Oborevwori.

However, the breakdown of the committee chairpersons, reveals that some juicy committees were reserved for lawmakers loyal to the former governor who is also the political godfather to the Speaker.

The finance and appropriation committee considered as one of the most important committees of the House was given to Eriathake Ibori-Suenu, while committee on Delta State Oil Producing Area Development Commission, DESOPADEC was given to Emomotimi Guwor, a protégé of the state deputy governor, Kingsley Otuaro.

The Speaker who presided over Thursday’s plenary announced the names of the Chairmen and members of the 28 standing committees.

The House Committee on Legislative Compliance has the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Ochor Ochor as chairman while the Majority Leader Hon Tim Owhefere is the Chairman House Committee on Information.

Oborevwori while inaugurating the committees congratulated the chairmen and members saying that standing committees in any parliament was key to legislative functions.

Chairmen of various House committees are:

  • Anthony Elekeokwuri -Public Accounts
  • Eriathake Ibori-Suenu – Finance and Appropriation
  • Emomotimi Guwor -DESOPADEC
  • Christopher Ochor Ochor Legislative Compliance
  • Emmanuel Sinebe – Delta State Capital Territory Development Agency
  • Charles Emetulu – Education
  • Reuben Izeze- Lands, Survey and Urban Development
  • Kenneth Ogba – Power and Energy,
  • Austin Uroye –Health
  • Pullah Ekpotuayerin – Environment, Oil and Gas
  •  Tim Owhefere -Information
  • Friday Osanebi – Arts, Culture and Tourism
  • Fred Martins – Youths and Sports
  • Felix Anirah – Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs
  • Charles Oniyere, Rules, Business, Legal and Judicial Matters
  • Pat Ajudua – Public Petitions
  • Solomon Ighrakpata, Special Duties
  • Emeka Nwaobi – Works
  • Ferguson Onwo – Housing and Women Affairs
  • Asupa Forteta – Peace and Security
  • Festus Okoh – Transport
  • Innocent Anidi – Establishment
  • Matthew Opuoru – Trade and Investments
  • Moses Anaughe – Science and Technology
  • Austin Chikezie – Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Oboro Preyor – Urban Renewal

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *