Connect with us


Council Poll: Bello Submits SIEC Nominees To Assembly



Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi,  State on Thursday, sent a list of his nominees as members of the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) to the state Assembly for confirmation raising hope that he may conduct local government election very soon.

In a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Mr Onogwu Muhammed in Lokoja, Bello named the former administrator of Lokoja Local Government Council, Mr Lawal Shiru, as the chairman of the commission.

Other members included: Ozovehe Enesi (Secretary), Adaji Ainoko, Musa Adama (Babakeke), Mr Funsho Olorunfemi, Chogudo Yakubu Musa, Mr Labaran Oyigebe and Abdulkarim Jamiu.

According to the statement, the governor forwards the names of the nominees to the House for screening and clearance.

The governor’s recommendation is in line with Section 197, Subsection 1(b) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

“The responsibility of the SIEC is to conduct free, fair and credible Local Government polls in the state.”

Bello throughout his first term in office failed to conduct election into local government areas despite  several appeals by  politicians and Civil Society Groups.

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact Us

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *