Connect with us

Edo 2020

Oshiomhole Led Panel Will Decide Obaseki’s Fate



The Adams Oshiomhole led National Working Committee, NWC will have a final say on the screening of the six aspirants for the All Progressives Congress, APC’s governorship ticket in Edo State, the national chairman of the party said on Tuesday.

Inaugurating the screening and the appeals committees, Oshiomhole, said the NWC would act as the Supreme Court in adjudicating any protests from the screening.

He said the decision to screen the credentials of the aspirants was to avoid the scenario in Bayelsa State when the party won an election but lost it in court on the basis of the credentials of the deputy governorship candidate.

He said:

“the NWC can reject the screening result. Screening committee is High Court, Appeal Committee, Appeal Court and the NWC, the Supreme Court.”

“So, the screening is not a formality and we expect you to be very meticulous in every material particular to protect our party so that let it not be said that we did not learn anything from Bayelsa.

“As you know sometimes when things go wrong,  everybody sees it that NWC did not do a thorough job. So people personalise it saying, if the chairman were thorough,  if he had done his job this would not have happened, but that is the price of leadership. For me, the important lesson is if we have made a mistake in the past, are we taking the steps to correct it?

“I think this is what this exercise represents. So, we will give you copies of our party’s Constitution, for that is the primary contract among members of the APC.  This constitution is the basis of our actions.

“We will make it available to you and we will also make available to you the guidelines that have been developed for the purpose of conducting primaries. I trust that given the calibre of your persons, that you will help the party to do a thorough job as to protect us as an institution from any possible judicial reversal of anything arising from the process”, Oshiomhole added.

Prof. Jonathan Ayuba was named as Chairman, Screening Committee and Prof. Abubakar Fari as chairman of the Appeals Committee.

Other members of the screening committee are Prof. Agbo Madaki, Hon. Ibrahim Zailani, Senator Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed “Binani”, Dr. Jane- Frances Agbu, Hon. Fort Dike and Dr. Rabe Nasir who would serve as Secretary.

For the Appeals Committee, its members are Prof. Sadeeque Abba, Barr. Gbenga Olubajo, Mohammed Idris, Esther Bepeh and Barr. Daniel Bwala who would serve as Secretary.

The revelation that the Oshiomhole Panel will give the final decision on the aspirants comes against the background of the clash between the national chairman and Obaseki, his chosen successor as governor of Edo State.

The revelation comes against the background of viral claims of issues pertaining to the certificates presented by Obaseki for his second term bid.

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact Us

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *