Connect with us


How Obiozor Emerged President-General Ohanaeze



IPOB Obiozor imposed

Former Nigeria ambassador to the United States, Prof. George Obiozor, emerged president-general of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, the apex socio-cultural group of the Igbo.

Two governors, Hope Uzodinma of Imo and Dave Umahi were at the election at the Dan Anyiam Stadium. Also present were the ministers of science and technology, Dr. Ogbonanya Onu and that of Labour, Employment and Productivity, Dr. Chris Ngige.

Umahi and Onu with Ebonyi delegates standing behind Obiozor

However, fellow contestants for the election boycotted the poll just as one of the leading aspirants for the post of Secretary-General of the group, Chief Chuks Ibegbu pulled out of the election.

Obiozor Emerged President General Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo in a poll he was the only candidate for the post at the stadium and the delegates took turns to vote for him according to the open ballot system.

He alleged that the process had become crooked and as such lacked democratic grace.

He said, “Following obvious distortion of the proper democratic rules of engagement and feeling the pulse of the Igbo Nation, I hereby exclude myself from the Nwodo led Ohanaeze election.

“Though I purchased the nomination form at an unacceptable sum of N300,000, regrettably the process was full of manipulation and the outcome would not be acceptable to Ndigbo.”

Dr. Ngige leading Anambra delegates to stand behind Obiozor

Obiozor emerged president-general of Ohanaeze with the active backing of Governor Uzodinma. He was the consensus candidate of a group of stakeholders gathered by Governor Uzodinma to help articulate a choice for Imo State ahead of the election.

According to Ohanaeze Ndigbo tradition, the post was zoned to Imo State along the rotational principle for the office last occupied by Dr. John Nwodo who is from Enugu State.

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact Us

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *