Connect with us


The Moves That Earned Chelsea Champions League Trophy

By Ekene Dike




Chelsea triumphed over Manchester City 1-0 in the UEFA Champions League final courtesy of a Kai Harvertz goal just before half-time. It was the second time that Chelsea would win the elite European club trophy in its history.

Thomas Tuchel’s Chelsea had absorbed much of the pressure from their fellow English in the second half after Timo Werner blew two clear opportunities in the first half.

However, the breakthrough came three minutes from half time when Kai Havertz got a splitting pass from Mason Mount.

All the German had to do was to dribble past an onrushing Ederson in goal for City and slot it into an empty net.

Although, veteran defender Thiago Silva left the pitch at the 36th minute, his replacement in the figure of Christensen was equal to the task as Manchester City were unable to break down a solid Chelsea defense.

With a mountain to climb in the second half, City continued their quest for an equalizer and the talismanic Kevin De Bruyne picked up an injury which forced him out of the pitch.

Gabriel Jesus was brought on to replace him. Sergio Aguero who had put in 15 goals past Chelsea including two hat-tricks was also introduced as well.

These changes couldn’t provide an answer as Chelsea held on to become the champions of Europe’s most prestigious club competition in 2021.

It was a historic win for some including Chelsea goal keeper, Edourd Mendy who becomes the first African goalkeeper to win the Champions League medal.

The new European champions will go on to lock horns with Europa League winners, Villarreal in the UEFA Super Cup final.

Albeit, they will play as European champions in the next FIFA Club World Cup.

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact Us

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *