Connect with us


Buhari Allocates Houses To 1994 Super Eagles Squad

By Ismaila Chafe



Super Eagles
1994 Super Eagles

Abuja, June 24, 2021 (NAN) President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the allocation of 3-bedroom houses to the 1994 Super Eagles squad that won the African Cup of Nations in Tunis, Tunisia, making real a promise by the Federal Government.

The President’s Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Malam Garba Shehu, confirmed this development in a statement in Abuja on Thusrday.

Shehu stated that the approval followed a memo by Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde-Raji Fashola, submitted to the President.

He said the president, therefore, approved the allocations in their states of preference, noting that six players and three technical crew members had received their houses already.

The 1994 Super Eagles players included: Peter Rufai, Alloy Agu, Ike Shorounmu, Uche Okechukwu, Samson Siasia, Efan Ekoku, Sunday Oliseh, Benedict Iroha, Isaac Semitoje, Mutiu Adepoju, Emmanuel Amunike, Victor Ikpeba, Austin Eguavoen and Wilfred Agbonavbare (Deceased).

Others are: Uche Okafor (Deceased), Thompson Oliha (Deceased), Stephen Keshi (Deceased), Christian Chukwu, Dr Akin Amao, Stephen Edema, Col. A Asielue and B. Aromasodun. (NAN)

GreenWhiteGreen GWG reports that the Eagles won the 1994 African Cup of Nations held in Tunisia and were promised a house each for their feat but that promise was never fulfilled with some of the players including the captain of the team, Stephen Keshi not receiving the gift before they died.

The Tunisia cup victory by the 1994 Super Eagles was the second time Nigeria won the cup and the first time from outside the country as it followed the 1980 victory in Nigeria.

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact Us

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *