Connect with us


Election Loss: Delta APC Serves Vengeance On Those Who Embarrassed Chairman



APC Former governors chairman

The mainstream of the All Progressives Congress, APC in Delta State has officially commenced its vengeance against party chieftains who allegedly fueled the opposition to the party’s official candidate in last weekend’s Isoko by-election with the suspension of eight party chieftains.

First among the eight suspended was Hon. Joel Tom Onowakpor who party chieftains alleged led the rebellion by advancing the cause of Mr. Emmanuel Michael Paul, popularly known as MC Paul, the candidate of the Social Democratic Party, SDP in the by-election.

 GreenWhiteGreen GWG had reported that MC Paul contested the APC primary but lost to Dr. Ogaga Ifowodo who was endorsed by the party leadership for the election. MC Paul, however, defected and contested the election on the platform of the SDP.

APC operatives in Delta have been furious that his defection was at the instance of Onowakpor, an influential party chieftain in the State constituency and hence the crave for vengeance.

Party operatives were particularly embarrassed that the by-election was in the constituency of the state caretaker committee chairman, Prophet Jones Erue and the landslide loss was seen as an embarrassment for the enduring party chairman.

Onowakpor and the others were said to have played the script of other state party leaders who sought to use the by-election to embarrass Prophet Erue who they felt was inclined towards the Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege.

Though no evidence has been adduced to officially indict prominent party elders like Mr. Festus Keyamo, Chief Great Ogboru, Speaker Emeritus Victor Ochei, Dr. Cairo Ojoubgboh among others, party operatives on ground, have continued to allege in APC chatrooms that they were not supportive of the party’s candidate in the election.

Delta APC Serves Vengeance Hot

Affirming the report of a disciplinary committee set up to probe the activities of those that allegedly played anti-party, the Emede Ward chairman, Osayerie Efemona and secretary, Emere Richard in a report to the Local Government Area chairman said:

With reference to the above heading and in line with the report of the seven man disciplinary committee set up by APC Emede Ward 05, Isoko South LGA to look into the involvement of some members of APC who played anti-party activities in the just concluded Isoko Constituency 1 House of Assembly by-election report as follows.

That the under-listed persons:

  1. Hon Joel Tom Onowakpor
  2. Chief Benson Obrogo
  3. Endurance Edafewotu
  4. Prince Billy Etena
  5. Mr. Arumari Lucky
  6. Prince Oteri Itisa
  7. Mr. Rueben Odogbor
  8. Hon. Benin Oseh

Were deeply involved in funding and campaigning for the candidate of SDP, Mr. Emmanuel Michael Paul, popularly known as MC Paul as against the candidate of APC, Barrister Ogaga Ifowodo.

After deliberation of the report of the disciplinary committee by the leaders and ward exco joint meeting, the persons involved in the anti-party activities are hereby suspended from APC. Also, the APC family should not have any dealing with them henceforth.

Thanks for your usual cooperation.

The report dated September 12, 2021 is expected to be quickly endorsed by the Local Government Area executive and forwarded to the State Exco headed by Prophet Erue which is not expected to waste time in ratifying the report.

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact Us

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *