Connect with us


Szymon Marciniak, World Cup Final Referee Admits Mistake



Marciniak World Cup referee

Szymon Marciniak, the referee who took charge of the 2022 World Cup final, has admitted he made a mistake during the game between Argentina and France.

Marciniak became the first official from Poland to oversee the biggest game in world football last Sunday.

He has since received plenty of applause from pundits and fans for his performance

Among Marciniak’s highlights were three rightfully awarded penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR.

However, the 41-year-old has conceded it was not a perfect performance for him.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.

“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.

Meanwhile, besides the news that Marciniak, the referee who took charge of the 2022 World Cup final, has admitted he made a mistake it has emerged that FIFA is investigating how celebrity chef, Salt Bae gained “undue access” to Argentina’s on-pitch celebrations after the World Cup final.

Salt Bae, the Turkish chef and social media presence whose real name is Nusret Gokce, posted several photos of himself with the World Cup trophy on social media after the finals.

The chef was also seen attempting to pose for a photo with Lionel Messi and several Argentina team-mates.

His presence in the immediate aftermath of the trophy presentation is now the subject of a FIFA investigation after attracting widespread criticism.

With additional reports from Vanguard

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact Us

 And For More Nigerian News Visit GWG.NG