Connect with us


Super Eagles Drawn In Group D For 2025 AFCON Qualifiers Alongside Benin, Rwanda, And Libya

By Benjamin Abioye



Super Eagles AFCON qualifiers

The Super Eagles of Nigeria have been placed in Group D for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers in Morocco, where they will compete alongside Benin Republic, Rwanda, and Libya.

This draw presents an opportunity for Nigeria’s Super Eagles to seek revenge for their recent 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying loss to the Cheetahs of Benin Republic in Abidjan. The two teams will face off again in the 2025 AFCON qualifiers, which are set to commence in September.

Although their World Cup qualifying rematch is scheduled for the final day of the qualification series in October 2025, Nigeria and Benin Republic will meet earlier as they vie for one of the 24 spots in the 2024 AFCON, taking place in Morocco from December 21, 2025, to January 18, 2026.

At the draw ceremony in Johannesburg, South Africa, the Super Eagles were also grouped with the Amavubi of Rwanda, another team they will encounter in the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers in March 2025, and the Mediterranean Knights of Libya.

The draw divided 48 countries into 12 groups of four teams each, with the top two teams from eleven groups securing direct qualification to the finals.

The qualification matches are slated for FIFA windows in September, October, and November, with two matches scheduled in each seven-day window.

The six-match qualifying series promises to be thrilling as teams compete for a place in one of Africa’s premier football tournaments.

The qualifiers will run from September 2024 to November 2024.

2025 AFCON Group Draws:

GROUP A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, The Gambia

GROUP B: Morocco, Gabon, Central African Republic, Lesotho

GROUP C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana

GROUP D: Nigeria, Benin Republic, Libya, Rwanda

GROUP E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia

GROUP F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger Republic

GROUP G: Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia, Sierra Leone, Chad

GROUP H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia

GROUP I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Eswatini

GROUP J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe

GROUP K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo, South Sudan

GROUP L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact

 And For More Nigerian News Visit GWG.NG