Connect with us


Abia House: PDP Vows Sanctions On Members-Elect Involved In Negative Campaign

By Our Reporter



PDP Abia primary

The Abia State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP has vowed strict sanctions on any of the 19 members-elect of the State House of Assembly who sponsor or smear fellow members in their pursuit of positions in the soon to be inaugurated 7th Abia State House of Assembly.

The party in a communique arrived at the end of a meeting with PDP members-elect of the 7th Assembly, said that the zoning of positions would be made after consultations with Governor Okeize Ikpeazu and other stakeholders.

The incoming members were nevertheless advised to proceed with their quiet campaigns pending the determination of the distribution of the offices.

The meeting which was presided over by the state chairman, Sir Johnson Onuigbo among others said:

“That SWC condemns in its entirety current attacks by hired agents of some members-elect against some others over  Speakership of the yet to be inaugurated 7th House of Assembly on Social Media which is not in the best interest of the Party,

“That SWC, hereby, instructs that henceforth any Member-elect who is found to be sponsoring any hostile and(or) damaging post(s) on Social Media or any other medium, shall be disciplined accordingly,

“That any Member-elect that is interested in any position in the 7th Abia State House of Assembly is free to go about his aspiration but without creating any image problem for the Party by being unduly quarrelsome, especially using the Social Media,

“That the posts of Speaker, Deputy Speaker, Majority Leader and other Principal Offices in the 7th Abia House of Assembly are positions accruable to the Party and the Party, with due consultations with the Governor and Leader of the Party in the State; Okezie Victor Ikpeazu, Ph.D, will advise, at the appropriate time, on the distribution of the aforementioned positions, based on competence and equity,

Members-elect that attended the meeting were; (1) Rt Hon Bishop Njoku ( Osisioma-Ngwa North) (2) Hon Paul Taribo ( Ukwa-East), (3) Hon Ifeanyi Uchendu ( Ohafia-South) (4) Hon Mandela Obasi (Ohafia-North), (5) Chief Jerry Uzosike (Umuahia-South), (6) Chief Aron(Aba-North) (7) Chief Ginger Onwusoibe (Isialangwa-North), (8) Mr Goddy Adiele(Ukwa-West), (9) Mr Allen Nwachukwu (Osisioma-Ngwa South) and (10) Chief Emmanuel Ndubuisi (Bende-South).

Members-elect who could not attend the meeting but respectfully sent their apologies were; (1) Hon Chinedum Orji (Umuahia-Central), (2) Hon Chukwudi Apugo (Umuahia-East) and (3) Hon Kelechi Onuzuruike (Umuahia-North).

Besides the chairman other members of the state executive of the party were present at the meeting.

 And For More Nigerian News Visit GWG.NG