Connect with us


Wike Loyalists In The Lurch As Factional Rivers Assembly Approves 8 Commissioners



Rivers assembly eight commissioners

The faction of the Rivers State House of Assembly led by Speaker Victor Oko-Jumbo has successfully screened and confirmed eight commissioners -designates.

Governor Siminalayi Fubara had sent the names for screening to replace the former pro-Wike commissioners who resigned last week.

Those confirmed were Prince Charles Bekee, Collins Onunwo, Solomon Eke, Basoene Benibo, Peter Medee, Tasie Amadi, Tambari Sydney Gbara, and Ovy Orluideye Chukwuma. During the screening process, the commissioner-designates pledged to use their experience to enhance Governor Fubara’s administration.

Sokari Goodboy Sokari, the leader of the Oko-Jumbo-led assembly, urged the House to confirm the nominees, highlighting their extensive service within the state.

His motion to close the debate was seconded by Adolphus Orubienimigha, leading to a unanimous confirmation by the members.

After the lawmakers confirmed the eight commissioners, Speaker Victor Oko-Jumbo commended Governor Fubara for his significant achievements and impactful projects across the state

He encouraged the governor to continue focusing on delivering democratic dividends to the people, assuring him of the assembly’s unwavering support. reports that having confirmed the eight commissioners the executive branch of government may have now put the Speaker Oko-Jumbo led faction of the legislature as the tendency to be more reckoned with.

Send Us A Press Statement Advertise With Us Contact Us

 And For More Nigerian News Visit GWG.NG